Skip to content

African artists lead the way with 2023 Grammy nominations

Last night, The Recording Academy released the nominees for the upcoming 2023 Grammy Awards. The nominated artists are the whose who of the usual musical A-listers including Beyonce who leads the race with nine nominations from her latest album Renaissance.

Other heavyweight contenders include Kendrick Lamar, with eight nominations and Adele and Brandi Carlile, who received seven nominations each.

Beyonce, Adele, Kendrick Lamar, Lizzo, and other’s are also all up for Record of the Year, while Harry Styles is also a strong contender, nominated for Best Pop Vocal Album, Best Pop Solo Performance, and Album of the Year.

African artists are also shining brightly on the Grammy’s radar. Nigerian superstar Burna Boy and Beninese legend Angélique Kidjo are both nominated for Best Global Music Album.

South Africa's Wouter Kellerman, Zakes Bantwini and Nomcebo Zikode, and Burna Boy are all in the running for Best Global Music Performance, while Nigeria's continually buzzing Tems is nominated for "Wait For U," her collaboration with Future and Drake, under the Best Melodic Rap Performance and Best Rap Song.

The 65th annual Grammy Awards will take place on Sunday, February 5, 2023, at the Arena in Los Angeles.

See below for the complete list of nominees:

Best Global Music Performance

“Udhero Na,” Arooj Aftab and Anoushka Shankar

“Gimme Love,” Matt B and Eddy Kenzo

“Last Last,” Burna Boy

“Neva Bow Down,” Rocky Dawuni featuring Blvk H3ro

“Bayethe,” Wouter Kellerman, Zakes Bantwini and Nomcebo Zikode

Best Global Music Album

“Shuruaat,” Berklee Indian Ensemble

“Love, Damini,” Burna Boy

“Queen of Sheba,” Angélique Kidjo and Ibrahim Maalouf

“Between Us … (Live),” Anoushka Shankar, Metropole Orkest and Jules Buckley featuring Manu Delago

“Sakura,” Masa Takumi

Best Melodic Rap Performance

“Beautiful,” DJ Khaled featuring Future and SZA

“Wait for U,” Future featuring Drake and Tems

“First Class,” Jack Harlow

“Die Hard,” Kendrick Lamar featuring Blxst and Amanda Reifer

“Big Energy (Live),” Latto

Best Rap Song

“Churchill Downs,” Ace G, BEDRM, Matthew Samuels, Tahrence Brown, Rogét Chahayed, Aubrey Graham, Jack Harlow and Jose Velazquez, songwriters (Jack Harlow featuring Drake)

“God Did,’ Tarik Azzouz, E. Blackmon, Khaled Khaled, F. LeBlanc, Shawn Carter, John Stephens, Dwayne Carter, William Roberts and Nicholas Warwar, songwriters (DJ Khaled featuring Rick Ross, Lil Wayne, Jay-Z, John Legend and Fridayy)

“The Heart Part 5,” Jake Kosich, Johnny Kosich, Kendrick Lamar and Matt Schaeffer, songwriters (Kendrick Lamar)

“Pushin P,” Lucas Depante, Nayvadius Wilburn, Sergio Kitchens, Wesley Tyler Glass and Jeffery Lamar Williams, songwriters (Gunna and Future featuring Young Thug)

“Wait for U,” Tejiri Akpoghene, Floyd E. Bentley III, Jacob Canady, Isaac De Boni, Aubrey Graham, Israel Ayomide Fowobaje, Nayvadius Wilburn, Michael Mule, Oluwatoroti Oke and Temilade Openiyi, songwriters (Future featuring Drake and Tems)

Best Song Written for Visual Media

“Be Alive” from “King Richard”; Beyoncé́ and Darius Scott Dixson, songwriters (Beyoncé́)

“Carolina” from “Where the Crawdads Sing”; Taylor Swift, songwriter (Taylor Swift)

“Hold My Hand” from “Top Gun: Maverick”; Bloodpop and Stefani Germanotta, songwriters (Lady Gaga)

“Keep Rising (The Woman King)” from “The Woman King”; Angelique Kidjo, Jeremy Lutito and Jessy Wilson, songwriters (Jessy Wilson featuring Angelique Kidjo)

“Nobody Like U” from “Turning Red”; Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell, songwriters (4*Town, Jordan Fisher, Finneas O’Connell, Josh Levi, Topher Ngo, Grayson Villanueva)

“We Don’t Talk About Bruno” from “Encanto”; Lin-Manuel Miranda, songwriter (Carolina Gaitán — La Gaita, Mauro Castillo, Adassa, Rhenzy Feliz, Diane Guerrero, Stephanie Beatriz & Encanto — Cast).

Share this article: