Skip to content

Everything we’re looking forward to about Miss SA 2021

Picture: Miss SA 2021 top 10 finalists, Instagram/@official_misssa
Picture: Miss SA 2021 top 10 finalists, Instagram/@official_misssa

The Miss South Africa 2021 finale airs tomorrow and we couldn’t be more excited about it!

One of ten incredible women will finally be crowned Miss South Africa 2021 tomorrow, Saturday the 16th of October, at the Grand West Arena in Cape Town.

The excitement about this year’s pageant has been overwhelming and it came with a few welcome surprises like 24-year-old Lehlogonolo Machaba becoming the first transgender woman to enter Miss SA and make it to the top 30.

Tomorrow the reigning queen, Shudufhadzo Musida, will hand over the crown and R4 Million prize package to one of the 10 finalists which include Zimi Mabunzi, Tiffany Francis, Catherine Groenewald, Lalela Mswane, Bianca Bezuidenhout, Kaylan Matthews, Jeanni Mulder, Kgothatso Dithebe, Cheneil Hartzenberg, and Moratwe Masima. The top 3 winners will then go on to represent the country at the world’s most prestigious pageants - Miss Universe, Miss World and Miss Supranational.

Miss SA 2021 will air live on M-Net (DStv channel 101) and Mzansi Magic (DStv channel 161) tomorrow (16 October) at 17:00. You can also stream it live on the My DStv App and international audiences can tune in via the online platform at

As we prep for our viewing party, here is everything we’re looking forward to about Miss SA 2021.

The fashion

This year six of the best designers in South Africa were chosen to dress the Miss SA 2021 finalists for the evening’s events. The designers include:

Tracy Efstathiou from Tracy B Swimwear for all finalists.

Jolandie Fouche from Jolache Couture dressing Bianca Bezuidenhout and Lalela Mswane.

Iman Mtshali founder of IS Apparel dressing Moratwe Masima and Cheneil Hartzenberg.

Sello Medupe from Scalo Designer dressing Zimi Mabunzi and Kaylan Matthews.

Lena Lisa dressing Jeanni Mulder and Catherine Groenewald.

Georges Malelu dressing Tiffany Francis and Kgothatso Dithebe.

The judging panel

The fate of the finalists is in the hands of an all-star judging panel this year and we can’t wait to see what they’re wearing and hear what they have to say. The judging panel includes Miss Universe Andrea Meza, Miss Universe 2015 and actress Pia Alonzo Wurtzbach, former Miss South Africa title holders Basetsana Kumalo (1994) and Tamaryn Green (2018), The Queen actress Shannon Esra, vice-chancellor of the University of Cape Town Mamokgethi Phakeng and radio and TV presenter Dineo Ranaka.

The hosts

Earlier this month it was announced that radio presenter and media personality Anele Mdoda and actor Nico Panagio will host the Miss South Africa pageant finale.

Having been on the judging panel in previous years it will be Mdoda’s first time hosting the main event. This is the second year Panagia will be hosting the pageant and he says that we can all expect great production this year.

Share this article: